Fall Favorites: Sweet Potato Souffle

This recipe was probably one of the first recipes that I ever made. I remember making a big mess in my mom’s kitchen mashing the sweet potatoes and mixing everything in. It seemed like it took FOREVER to make.

As the years have gone by I have made some changes to the recipe and made it a little less messy and a little quicker to make. The original called for a TON of sugar. Now, I am not a health nut by any measure. I love my junk. However, as I grew older my tastes changed and I decided to cut the sugar WAAAAAY back so I could actually taste the sweet potato and not just a bunch of sugar. I also discovered that I could throw everything in the blender so I was not mashing and mixing FOREVER! Then came the brilliant idea to add an extra egg to make it a little fluffier and more souffle-like. The result was a husband and crowd-pleasing souffle that comes together in minutes.

Here are a couple of tips before you start baking.

1. Wrap the sweet potatoes in foil to cook them. The insides will separate from the skin so much better than baking them unwrapped.

2. Bake the sweet potatoes at 400 degrees until tender. The higher temp will help bring out the natural sugar in the sweet potatoes.

3. Don’t let the sweet potatoes cool all the way. You want them hot enough to melt the butter.

4. As you add ingredients to the blender you will want to layer the liquid with the solids. This helps keep things going as you puree it.

5. This recipe can be made a few days ahead of your event and reheated the day of.

Happy Cooking!!!

Sweet Potato Souffle

3 cups mashed sweet potatoes 1/4 cup sugar
1/4 tsp. salt 3 eggs
4 tbsp. melted butter ½ cup milk
½ tsp. vanilla

Topping: combine

1 cup brown sugar 1/3 cup flour
1 cup chopped nuts 1/3 cup butter
½ cup oats 1/4 tsp cinnamon

Rinse sweet potatoes and wrap in foil. Bake sweet potatoes at 400 degrees until tender. In the blender combine all ingredients and puree.

Spread in 9″ square baking dish. Combine ingredients for topping cutting in the butter until it resembles coarse crumbs.

Sprinkle on top of souffle.

Bake 35 minutes at 350.

Check out some of my other recipes!

Fall Favorites: Carrot Souffle

Saturday Morning Pancakes

Shoofly Muffins

Chocolate Chip Bran Muffins

Muffin Monday: Banana Crumb Muffins

Muffin Monday: Chocolate Chip Muffins

3 thoughts on “Fall Favorites: Sweet Potato Souffle

Leave a comment