Saturday Morning Pancakes

Saturday morning. That day most of the working people long for all week. No school. No work. It’s great.

For my husband and I, it is sometimes hard to find time together on a Saturday morning together. He has Firefighter training and works at least two or three Saturdays out of the month. Today he was home.  I love spending Saturday morning with him. One of the things I enjoy doing with him is breakfast. Sometimes it is French toast. Sometimes it is waffles. Sometimes it is pancakes.

Pancakes are just lovely. I have memories of my mom getting out the yellow box of Bisquick and making pancakes for my sister and me when we were little. For years I thought you could only make pancakes from Bisquick. Then I grew up and moved off to McAllen Texas. I was doing mission work down there and on a very tight budget. Not much money for Bisquick after I bought the essentials like milk, eggs, and flour. It was then I realized that I could probably make pancakes without Bisquick. So I started scouring the internet. Somewhere I found this recipe. I have never gone back to Bisquick.

Fast forward a couple years. I was married and wanting to make breakfast for my hubby. I decided on pancakes so I got out my flour, sugar, milk, and eggs and went to work. My poor husband was a bit bewildered. How in the world was his wife making pancakes without the yellow box of Bisquick?!?!

The first few times I made the pancakes from scratch he grumbled. It did not taste the same as Bisquick. He liked Bisquick better. I just let him grumble and pointed out that I was saving us money by making them from scratch. After about a year he got used to my from scratch pancakes and decided they were better than Bisquick. Now he does not want Bisquick pancakes.

20170408_092430

Because he has gotten used to my from scratch pancakes I have started doing some things to make them a little “healthier”. Sometimes I use about ½ cup Greek yogurt and only 1 cup milk. This adds protein and makes the pancakes about the consistency of buttermilk pancakes. Sometimes I use half wheat flour and half white flour to add some whole grain goodness.

20170408_084418

Pancakes  

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour 3 tbs butter, melted
3 ½ tsp baking powder 1 egg
1 tsp salt 1 1/4 cups milk
1 tbs white sugar cooking spray

Sift together flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar in a large bowl.

20170408_085440

Whisk in melted butter, egg, and milk until combined. Let batter rest for 5 minutes.

20170408_084817

Preheat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Spray with cooking spray. Pour batter into the hot skillet, about 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake.

20170408_090226

Cook for 2 to 3 minutes, until bubbles, appear on the sides and center of each pancake.

20170408_090555

Flip and cook until golden, about 1 to 2 minutes.

20170408_092609

 

One thought on “Saturday Morning Pancakes

Leave a Reply

