Muffin Monday: Banana Crumb Muffins

If you happen to be a Minion working for an evil villain these muffins might be for you! Well ok if you are just someone who likes a super moist tasty muffin that has just enough banana flavour to tickle your taste buds this recipe is for you.

Several years ago I had about three or four bananas I had to use up. I am super picky about the bananas I eat. I don’t like them to green and I don’t like them overly ripe. These bananas were getting brown and getting brown fast. I didn’t want to eat them but I could not throw them away. What do I do with them? The answer, of course, was bake with them! I whipped out my computer and started looking for a recipe.

20170304_203330

I believe I stumbled across this one on Allrecipes.com. I printed it off and went to work. Oh, my word! The kitchen smelled so good as these baked up! My hubs came in and at first was not really wanting to try a banana muffin. I mean with bananas in it the muffin had to be healthy and of course healthy is nasty disgusting and horrible. Finally, he got curious and tried one. He was in love.

He loved the sweet and slightly crunchy crumb topping. He loved the steamy moist inside. I think he downed about four before he stopped then he asked that I make him again. I had a keeper recipe!

20170304_212505

Well, enough of my ramblings here is this amazing recipe!

Banana Crumb Muffin  

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour 1 egg, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon baking soda 1/3 cup butter, melted
1 teaspoon baking powder 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3 bananas, mashed 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3/4 cup white sugar 1 tablespoon butter

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Lightly grease 10 muffin cups or line with muffin papers.

20170304_203550

In a large bowl, mix together 1 1/2 cups flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. In another bowl, beat together bananas, sugar, egg and melted butter. Stir the banana mixture into the flour mixture just until moistened. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups.20170304_204213

In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, 2 tablespoons flour and cinnamon. Cut in 1 tablespoon butter until mixture resembles coarse cornmeal. Sprinkle topping over muffins.

20170304_204801

Bake in preheated oven for 18 to 20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin, comes out clean.

20170304_205124

 

Leave a Reply

