Bundle of Joy — Bundle of Chicken

So I will admit I have not been blogging much because I have been soooooo tired. Growing a little bundle of joy inside of me wears me out. I go to work then head home a crash. Somehow I manage to get supper on the table for my husband and I but lately, the dishes don’t get done for a few days. (I used to have a no dirty dish in the sink when I went to bed policy but pregnancy changed all that!)

The other day I decided to push through my tiredness to make a dish that I was craving so desperately. They are called Chicken Bundles. I think they are kinda like a calzone or stromboli. My husband thinks they are like Hot Pockets. Whatever they are like they are really really good. They have a creamy, chickeny (I know not a word!)  center and a rich sweet Crescent roll outside.

The recipe says you can use a can of Crescent Rolls. However, I prefer to make life complicated and use homemade Crescent roll dough. The dough takes FOREVER to make but it is really worth it. I also prefer to use Philidelphia Cream Cheese. I tried some generic brands and they don’t taste as good.

I also have this amazing kitchen gadget I love to use when making these Chicken Bundles. It is a Calzone Press. Honestly, it takes some practice to get the Calzone press to work right but when you do it is awesome. I also use this little gadget to make mini peach and apple pies. You can get a Calzone Press from Amazon pretty cheap. 

Untitled

So today you get two recipes for the price of one. You get my Chicken Bundle Recipe and my Crescent Roll recipe. If you do decide to make the homemade crescent rolls you will need to start on that recipe first so it has time to rise.

 


Chicken Bundles

1 pkg (8oz) Cream Cheese ½ cup finely chopped celery (Optional)
1/4 cup milk 1 medium onion
1 tsp dill weed (Optional) 3 tubes (8 oz) refrigerated crescent rolls
½ tsp salt 1/4 cup butter or margarine melted
½ tsp pepper
4 cup cubed cooked chicken

20170622_181012

In a mixing bowl, beat cream cheese, milk, dill, salt, and pepper until smooth. Stir in chicken, celery, and onions.

20170622_182601

If you are using the homemade Crescent Rolls now is the time to roll the dough out and use your handy dandy Calzone Press.

Or if you are using canned crescent roll dough separate into 12 rectangles, four from each tube; place on a greased baking sheet and press perforations together.

Spoon 1/2 cup of chicken mixture into the center of each rectangle (or the middle of the Calzone Press). Bring edges up to the center and pinch to seal. Brush with butter.

Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes or until golden.

Notes: Spinach goes really well with the filling.

20170622_190900


Crescent Rolls

½ Cup milk ½ Cup warm water
½ Cup butter softened 1 Egg
1/3 Cup white sugar 3 ½ Cups All-purpose flour
½ Tsp salt 1 Egg, beaten
1 pkg active dry yeast

20170622_170049

Warm the milk in a small saucepan until bubbles form at the edges; remove from heat. Mix in the butter, sugar, and salt. Let cool until lukewarm.

20170622_170703

In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes.

20170622_172330

In a large bowl, combine milk and yeast mixtures. Stir in 1 egg. Beat in flour 1 cup at a time until dough pulls together. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface, and knead until smooth and elastic, about 8 minutes. Lightly oil a large bowl, place the dough in the bowl, and turn to coat. Cover with a damp cloth, and let rise in a warm place until doubled in volume, about 1 hour.

Deflate the dough, and turn it out onto a lightly floured surface. If you are making Chicken Bundles DO NOT divide the dough. Just roll it all out and cut your circles with your Calzone Press)

20170622_182855

If you are making Chicken Bundles DO NOT divide the dough. Just roll it all out and cut your circles with your Calzone Press.

Divide the dough into two equal pieces, and form into rounds. Cover, and let rest 10 minutes.

Using a floured rolling pin, roll each dough half into a 12-inch circle. Cut each circle into 6 wedges. Roll each wedge up towards the point. Bend ends inward to form crescents, and place point side down on lightly greased baking sheets. Cover, and let rise until doubled, about 30 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).

Brush rolls with beaten egg, and bake for 12 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden brown.

Leave a Reply

