Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain.

It seems like since March my husband and I have not caught a break. They say when it rains it pours. Well, for us, right now it is pouring.

Two weeks ago we got a call from Stephen’s grandmother in Florida. Mamma told us that Pappa did not have long. He had stopped eating and drinking. We decided that we needed to go see Pappa before he passed. We knew he may not even know who Stephen was but we had to try. Saturday after Stephen got home from his class we left home and headed to Florida. We got the word two hours into our trip that Pappa had passed. Stephen was devastated.

I did not know Pappa that well but it hurt to know how bad Stephen was hurting. It also brought up my own grief of losing my Nanny. It brought back memories of watching her die.

As if Pappa passing was not enough that same week as Stephen and I were getting ready for work we realized that the water at our house was just not getting hot. Our poor hot water heater had given up the ghost. It had served that house faithfully for about 16 years and just could not handle it anymore. So then we had to figure out how and when to replace it. I know that a broken water heater pales in comparison to losing someone but it was like pouring lemon juice on a paper cut.

My favorite hymn is Be Still My Soul. The first verse says

Be still, my soul: the Lord is on thy side.
Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain.
Leave to thy God to order and provide;
In every change, He faithful will remain.
Be still, my soul: thy best, thy heav’nly Friend
Through thorny ways leads to a joyful end.

This song came to mind one morning that week as I was washing my hair in cold water and having a bit of a pity party for myself. I was trying not to cry about all that has gone wrong. (Ok, some of the emotional stuff I have going on right now is pregnancy hormones. Joy. Joy.)

With everything that seems to have gone wrong in the last six moths, it is hard to see how God is on our side. However, He promises to walk with us through trials. He doesn’t promise a life of ease or free from trials but He promises to be with us in those times. He will remain faithful to provide for His children. One day we will better understand why we went through some of the trials of this life. One day we will look back at our trials and see how God used them in our lives.

Leave a Reply

