Time Flies Line an Arrow. Fruit Flies Like a Banana.

Time flies like an arrow.


As a kid time seemed to drag on. It took forever to get to Chrismas and my birthday. The school year seemed like an eternity. Summer seemed to never end.
As an adult, I understand that time goes so quickly. It seems like just yesterday I was getting married. It has been three and a half years now. It seems like it was not that long ago I found out I was expecting my first child. Now I am sitting here in my third trimester wondering how it went so fast. It is crazy to think I have one month at my job and two months before my little one gets here. Time has gone so fast.
I am trying to juggle work and home right now. We are hitting the busy summer season at the resort I work at. My department is short handed so I have been staying late and getting some overtime to stay caught up. (Just gonna say my amazing co-worker has been a big help as well!!!) I have not really had time at home to do anything. Obviously, I also have not had much time to blog either.
My mum has been bringing me fabric from Nanny’s house. I have been trying to get it put away. (I think Nanny had fabric in every nook and cranny at her house!! Maybe her house was even made of fabric!) Every night I have hopes of getting it stuffed into my closet but time gets away from me. I am so thankful for my laid back husband who is not bothered by a little mess in the hallway!
Right before Mother’s Day, I blogged about my Mother’s Day Brunch I was hosting. It went over fabulously. It was a lot of work but so worth it!!! I think the family enjoyed the food and fellowship. I took pictures of my decorations. However, in the bustle of being a good hostess forgot to take pictures of the family enjoying it! Oops! I am going to post the pictures on my original Mother’s Day post here.


Fruit Flies Like a Banana


I am not sure why but for some reason my banana peels start to split. I had some do that to me a couple of weeks ago and did not realize what had happened till there were fruit flies and ooze all over my counter. (Honestly, it was like super quick that those pesky flies got my bananas!!!) This time as soon as my banana peels started to split I shoved them in the fridge. I decided that I wanted to make my husband some banana bread but I did not have time right at that moment.
This morning I am finding time to make my banana bread.
Just last night the hubs was looking through my cupboards bemoaning the fact that there really was not any munchies available for our Friday night Netflix marathon. (I told him there was a whole cabinet of brownie mix if he wanted to make some. He declined my offer.)  This will give him something to munch and give me something to take to Sunday school.

20170527_084124


Banana Bread

2 ½ Cups white sugar 1 1/4 cups Milk
1 Cup margarine 1 ½ tsp baking soda
3 Eggs 1 ½ tsp baking powder
1 ½ Cups mashed bananas 1 tsp vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour ½ cup chopped nuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

Cream together shortening and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.

20170527_085011

Mix in bananas, buttermilk, and vanilla. Mix in flour, baking powder, and soda. Stir in nuts if desired.

20170527_085906

Pour batter into two greased 9×5 inch pans.

Bake for 50 to 60 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

