Find a System that Works for You

In my previous post, I talked about getting started on your fitness journey. I listed four things that have helped me stay in the game. 1. Find a system that works for you and start there. 2. Find a time frame that works for you. 3. Find your motivator. And 4. Find accountability.

Today I want to expound on my first point. Find a system that works for you. I will share several things that I have done and enjoyed and I will share several resources to help you decide.

Gym Memberships

Gym memberships are the most popular choice for people trying to work out. Depending on where you live you may have several gym options available to you. Do your research before joining ANY gym. Some memberships are monthly payments with no strings attached. Some gyms make you sign a contract for a specific amount of time and if you cancel you will be penalized. Most gyms will give you a free trial week. I recommend seeing if that option is open to you before you join. Some gym atmospheres are intimidating and loud and may make you uncomfortable.

There are two gyms that I recommend. Curves, which is only for women, and your local YMCA.

Curves is a fitness facility specially designed for women that is fun, fast, and safe. Most Curves offer their specialty classes that include stretching, Jillian Michaels, and Zumba. To find a local Curves near you check out their web page. They also offer seasonal discounts on memberships so be sure to ask about them when you call to schedule your free consultation.

I worked for a Curves for several years and absolutely loved it and I saw results. They have coaches that will answer any questions you have. The circuit is simple and straightforward. You don’t need to adjust any weights during your workout. There is no guesswork. Most Curves offer Curves Smart which will help you track your workouts. Also if you are looking to add a nutritional program to your workouts ask them about Curves Complete.

If you are looking for a traditional gym with some great programs and not overly pushy staff try your local YMCA. I have friends that have gone to the ones in my area and really enjoyed them. The programs offered vary from each YMCA but I am sure you will be able to find something that works for you.

At Home Workout Options

There are several other good options at home options if you can self-motivate. I live and work in an area that going to a gym is just not convenient. For convenience, choose rather to workout at home.

There are several YouTube channels that offer a variety of workouts for you to choose from. BeFit offers yoga, pilates, traditional group exercise workouts, and much more. I have done several of their videos and really enjoyed them. There is also SkinnyMom. Skinny Mom does not have full workout videos like BeFit but they do show how to do body weight exercise that will target specific areas of your body. I like them because these are real mommas working out. If you would prefer to dance your weight off there is ReFitRev. They are a Christian based Zumba group. I have done several of their videos and really enjoy mixing up my usual routine with a bit of Zumba.


There is also a great fitness book that will get you started with an at home workout. It is called “10 Minute Total Body Breakthrough”. It is full of great instruction and inspiration. It also has a back section of workouts that you can mix and match depending on your workout level. Most of the workouts require no equipment. You will need a 30-second timer to do this workout. If you have a smartphone you can download an app that will do the time.

The 10 Minute workout is great if you are just starting out your exercise routine. Once you are comfortable doing 10 Minutes you can add more rounds to build up your time. I actually did this when I was first married and did not have a gym to go to. It helped me maintain my fitness regimen and I could do it very easily in our little studio apartment.

If you don’t or can’t watch YouTube there are several DVD options.


Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred is a great program that I have used. It is another circuit based workout. It sounds intimidating but she makes sure there is an easy level for those just starting out.


There are also some Zumba DVDs that you can purchase if you want to have your dance party in your living room. The boxed set even comes with the awesome Zumba weights. I have not yet purchased these but I am really hoping I can to supplement my workouts.


Last but not least if you are looking for a tough workout P90X is the answer. My sister has done this one. She really enjoyed the challenge. You may need to purchase extra equipment to go with it but this workout will rival any that you will get at a gym.

Keep in mind that everyone is different and so not everyone will enjoy working out the same way. To me, all of these are great and enjoyable options. Try several of them to see which ones you enjoy. Pick one or two and switch them up so you don’t get stuck in a rut.

One thought on “Find a System that Works for You

Leave a Reply

